I made hummus!

It was about time I made my own hummus. I like all kinds of interesting projects, some of which I just try once for the experience. I’ve made etrog jam (annually for years), yogurt (once), sourdough bread (until I got tired of feeding a starter I rarely used), and homemade ice cream. All commercial Israeli ice cream has hydrogenated vegetable oil in it, except for the imported Ben & Jerry’s, which is 35 shekels a pint–about $10!!!

The recipe I followed is from a hummus blog. It’s in Hebrew, but I’ll summarize the method here:

0. Start two or three days before you want to eat the hummus.

1. Choose small chick peas because the skins are more tender and will slip off and disappear when cooking. (Oops…I should have read this before buying the chick peas. At least I didn’t get the giant ones. I think the only choices may have been “large” and “giant.”)

2. Soak them in salt water for about 8 hours.

3. Rinse and soak again in plain water overnight. Total soaking time for steps 2 and 3 is up to 24 hours or more.

4. Rinse and cook in unsalted water with some onions and garlic. After about 45 minutes, add a teaspoon of baking soda to shorten the cooking time. (I omitted this step and it came out fine but the peas maybe could have been softer.)

5. The skins should start to loosen and slip off. If they don’t, remove the chick peas (in the middle of cooking), rub them with your hands, and return them to the pot. This will loosen the skins and allow them to slip off during the rest of the cooking time. (I skipped this step because it seemed too complicated, and with Jeff out of town, I knew I’d be watching TV later!)

6. Cook until they’re very soft.

7. Drain and reserve the cooking liquid.

8. If the skins haven’t come off on their own, laboriously pick each one off while watching James Spader be the bad guy you love to hate in The Blacklist. The skins slip right off, but there are a lot of chick peas… it’s possible to skip this step, I suppose, but the texture of the final product will be different.

9. Freeze at least half of the chick peas so you can have fresh hummus any time you want! Add some reserved cooking liquid to the freezer container.

10. Puree in food processor. Add reserved cooking liquid until the consistency is right. Make it on the thin side because it will thicken up when it sits in the fridge.

11. Season with tehina, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, and salt. Add seasonings gradually to avoid over-seasoning, but don’t skimp. Garnish with parsley, sumac, and more olive oil. I bought seasoned tehina, so all I had to add was olive oil and salt.

The taste was AMAZING–fresh and without that weird aftertaste that store-bought hummus has. I ate it with a spoon and didn’t bother with the bread. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I made hummus!

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I remember you also make mustard. I once made bagels but as long as the bagel shoppe is around the corner will never again.

Leave a Reply

