Getting ready to leave

Packing is officially in full swing in the Halpern household! It’s pretty daunting to go through all of our possessions, from plates to paper clips, and ask, “Do I think I’ll need this in the next two years? Is this replaceable? Is it cheap? Do I love it enough to bring it? Put it in a box for when we return to America? Give it away? Trash it?”

It’s not a fun job, but at the same time I’m so happy to be having a fresh start. As much as I’ll miss all the people here, I’m looking forward to a new adventure. It sounds trite but it’s true.

Rafi reading cards at his 3rd birthday party

That’s all for now, I just wanted to get this blog started so that I can share the address. I quit Facebook a year ago and never looked back, but people kind of expect me to have a good way to communicate with them and share pictures. What a strange request 😉

By the way, the blog title is a quote from Rafi. He tells me he doesn’t like it when I speak Hebrew because “Hebrew is for Israel!”

-Abby

9 thoughts on “Getting ready to leave

  1. I worked with a former Army Officer. He kind of liked moving every two years for many of the same reasons you cite above. In addition, it kept his accumulation of stuff in check!

    This is really exciting and scary all at the same time. I’m sure once you are there, exciting will take over.

    Dad.

  2. Pingback: Hebrew Isn’t Just for Israel | Hebrew Is for Israel, Mommy

Leave a Reply

